Reviews

What people are saying about Bloomfield House




Excellent - Rating 4/5

Extremely polite and caring. Could not ask for a better weekend.

Response

\"Extremely polite and caring. Could not ask for better guests!\" :) We very much enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to seeing you again. Karen and Robert

Reviewer: Mr. Cyril Slocombe | Mon 24th Apr 2017


Weekend Away in Bath - Rating 5/5

Spent two nights here on a weekend away. Karen is an attentive and pleasant host, very friendly and helpful regarding things to do in and around Bath. Felt very welcome. The room (no 6) was splendid. Filled with natural light and a lovely environment to spend time in. Had a view over the city. Bathroom was adequate but not special. Breakfast was excellent. Enjoyed sitting in the garden and playing with the resident dogs. Definitely would stay again.

Reviewer: Mr. Gary Jones | Thu 13th Apr 2017


Fabulous stay - Rating 5/5

The hosts at Bloomfield house are so welcoming and friendly!! The house was lovely and the room well appointed. We are both vegetarian and the breakfast was excellent there was no issue that we needed different food to the other guests staying and everything was good quality.

Reviewer: Lucy Cook | Mon 3rd Apr 2017


Very welcoming - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bloomfield House. The owners are very warm, welcoming and interesting to talk to, they clearly enjoy having guests in their home. The breakfast was delicious and such a treat to have such good quality food. Rooms were spotlessly clean (even though we brought our dog and we\'re of course then In a dog friendly room) beds were comfortable and shower was lovely. A nice and easy walk into town and depending on your fitness and how much you buy a convenient bus stop right outside!! Highly recommend a stay here.

Reviewer: Lucy Morgan | Mon 3rd Apr 2017


Thoroughly enjoyed my stay - Rating 5/5

This is an amazing building, clearly of historical significance and a treat to stay in. The owners are lovely and I was touched by the effort that went into providing my Vegan breakfast. The room was very comfortable. It was far enough from the centre of Bath to escape the busy-ness of town, but close enough to be convenient. In my case it was a lovely walk down the hill into my weekend long seminar and a quick bus trip back up the hill. The bus service is very good. I hope to have cause to go back to Bath again, so I can stay there again.

Response

Dear Julie, Thank you for your kind reviews. It was a great pleasure to meet you (both) I too hope you have cause to come back to Bath!! Thank you for the foodie info - we are already on it. Warm wishes Karen

Reviewer: Julie Thomlinson | Wed 29th Mar 2017


Good - Rating 5/5

Pleasant people,lots of relevant information supplied to guests. Good food. Would definitely return.

Reviewer: Mick Mcgillicuddy | Fri 17th Mar 2017


Lovely anniversary get away - Rating 5/5

Spent one night here in the large double room with the four poster bed and a view of the Royal crescent. Very comfortable stay with friendly hosts and their pets. Easy downhill stroll into city and on a regular bus route if you cant face the hill coming back. Lots of information about where to eat/ what to see if needed. Would stay again.

Reviewer: Dr. Saffron Scott | Sun 22nd Jan 2017


A good choice for local recommendation at Bath - Rating 5/5

Karen is very nice to briefly introduce the local transportation, some local tastes (really appreciate a detailed list of her recommendations), and the House facilities. You are feeling like visiting friends instead of merely staying at a standardised hotel. It is a little remote from the city centre, fortunately, Bus No.4 travelling to the city centre stops near the House Overall, a highly recommended choice for local recommendation at Bath.

Response

It was a pleasure to meet you and I\'m very glad you felt at home here. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in England. Karen

Reviewer: Frank LUO | Sat 31st Dec 2016


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

There is a personal touch with the service, the owners are very friendly and helpful. Good location, not far for city centre. Room and bed comfortable, breakfast room is lovely. Would recommend this charming small hotel.

Response

Thank you, your comments are much appreciated. Karen

Reviewer: Maud Silva Borges | Fri 30th Dec 2016


Family visit - Rating 5/5

lovely house,welcoming and friendly owners. Would love to stay here again next time we visit Bath.

Reviewer: Mrs. Susan Shelswell | Fri 30th Dec 2016


Bloomfield house - Rating 5/5

Amazing experience there! Nice place and really good breakfast. We will come back!

Reviewer: Marta Lorente | Mon 12th Dec 2016


Wonderful accommodation, great location and food - Rating 5/5

A family wedding brought us to bath , staying at Bloomfield felt like staying with family. Nothing too much trouble , very helpful maps and travel infomation - that worked perfectly! - would recommend and would revisit

Reviewer: Mandy Meadows | Sun 11th Dec 2016


Georgian style and a friendly welcome - Rating 4/5

What better way to experience Bath than to stay in a fine Georgian house, in an excellent location with thoughtful, welcoming hosts.

Reviewer: Alison Hogan | Sat 10th Dec 2016


A relaxed place to stay. - Rating 5/5

This is my second time staying here and it did not disappoint. Relaxed feel with a warm welcome. The rooms were clean and comfortable decorated in a style sympathetic to a grand Georgian house. Would not stay any where else now in Bath.

Reviewer: Ms. Sarah O\'Sullivan | Mon 5th Dec 2016


Friendly Hotel - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay, would love to visit again. Felt at home

Reviewer: Iain Carrington | Sat 3rd Dec 2016


Peaceful stay in magnificent accommodation - Rating 5/5

A treat for our anniversary which did not disappoint. Very attentive hostess, beautiful accommodation, great breakfast and use of loyalty card for discount for several Bath attractions.

Reviewer: Felicity Archer | Thu 24th Nov 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Warm friendly welcome nothing too much trouble, room well set out and furnished to high standard. Superb breakfast very relaxing and of a very high standard . Information provided on local facilities very comprehensive . Excellent hosts, would make a return visit.

Reviewer: Mr. Robert Chapman | Mon 24th Mar 2014


Ms - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay. Bloomfield House is peaceful, spotless and everyone was so friendly. We appreciated the fact that we could control the heating in our room, and the shampoo and soaps were refilled, even the bins had paper liners- great for the environment. Really pretty dining room too. We will be back for sure.

Reviewer: Ms. Jane Langley | Mon 10th Mar 2014


perfect!! - Rating 5/5

Everything is perfect.

Reviewer: Geng Tang | Wed 26th Feb 2014


Excellent bath base for pet lovers - Rating 5/5

So nice to be able to stay in a beautiful home and bring the dog too. A very attractive house, comfortable and stylish rooms, friendly hosts and a sociable breakfast. Will definitely return.

Reviewer: Karen Levesley | Sun 23rd Feb 2014


Delightful! - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome from Karen and Robert at their beautiful Georgian house in a quiet location with off-road parking. Near enough to walk to city centre, also on very good bus route to Bath's main attractions. Comfortable, well-appointed room with thoughtful personal touch. Delicious breakfasts, Karen makes the best scrambled eggs I've ever tasted, I'll certainly be back!

Reviewer: Ms. Margaret Berge | Mon 17th Feb 2014


Fantastic! - Rating 5/5

This is a lovely B&B. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast delicious. You will be very well looked after and nothing is too much trouble.

Reviewer: Dr. Karen Jones | Mon 17th Feb 2014


great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed one night only,wish it could of been more. Lovely room with really good quality sheets and towels. The carafe of port was an unexpected treat. Fab breakfast,very nice hosts.

Reviewer: Annie Gough | Sun 9th Feb 2014


Highlight of the weekend! - Rating 5/5

One often selects accommodation thinking that it will just be a place to rest in between the excitement of the city one is in but Bloomfield House, it's lovely owners and their magnificent dog and three cats were what my friends and I will remember this weekend. Their rich lives enriched ours and I would be there again tomorrow if my travel plans allowed. Do make sure to experience one of the most special b&bs in the West Country!!

Reviewer: Ms. Felicia Filep | Mon 3rd Feb 2014


Rating - Rating 5/5

Beautifully decorated room. very friendly and helpful, lovely breakfast and good location.

Reviewer: Mrs. Carol Ash | Mon 18th Nov 2013


Unique place - Rating 5/5

A lovely friendly place, unique decor. Comfortable rooms and a laid back freshly cooked breakfast. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Reviewer: Mark Aitkins | Tue 5th Nov 2013


Elegant Bath - Rating 5/5

My wife and I spent a delightful weekend at Bloomfield House in October 2013. The accommodation is elegant, the breakfast magnificent and the owners could not have made us more comfortable or welcome. Bloomfield was the perfect complement to a gracious city.

Reviewer: Mr. Colin Clarkson | Sat 2nd Nov 2013


Perfect choice - Rating 5/5

At least 100% absolutely perfect far better than a Hotel. Want to feel at home then go to Bloomfield house.

Reviewer: MORRIS PAUL | Sun 20th Oct 2013


Blooming good break - Rating 5/5

We had an excellent stay at Bloomfield House. Mine hosts were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Comfy bed, good food and pleasant company. We discovered the joys of Bath, having never been there previously (despite the inclement weather)and hope to return again. Bit of a walk into the centre of Bath but good exercise.

Response

Thank you Sue for your lovely review. We do hope to see you again someday. Best wishes Rob & Karen

Reviewer: Sue Chatfield | Fri 18th Oct 2013


weekend away - Rating 5/5

A great venue, great room with superb hosts, Can't recommend highly enough. Simply superb

Reviewer: Wayne Ridout | Fri 18th Oct 2013


Awesome time! - Rating 5/5

We had an amazing time at the Bloomfield House. Our room was on the top floor and was overlooking the sweet garden. The bathroom was absolutely spotless and the room was very cozy. Karen is a great cook and we had delicious breakfast in the morning. She has a very friendly dog and few cats, all lovely. The hotel is situated a 15 min walk away from the city centre which was totally fine for us. We took cabs to come back in the evening as it is quicker and cheaper than taking the bus! We hope to come back soon and we highly recommand that you do also!

Reviewer: Mr. B. T. | Wed 9th Oct 2013


Couldn't ask for more - Rating 5/5

I was travelling alone on business and Karen and the rest of her family made me feel so welcome and comfortable and I can't thank them enough. They worked around my schedule,s setting me up for an ungodly hour breakfast, late night printing and just a general feeling of being at home and safe. I would definitely recommend this hotel, not to just single females but to everyone embarking on either business or pleasure in Bath - I dont think you would find better!

Reviewer: Mrs. Juli Dosad | Wed 2nd Oct 2013


Excellent establishment. - Rating 5/5

Accommodation was faultless, rooms clean and well presented with a very comfortable bed that I did not want to leave in the mornings. The house itself is beautiful and the grounds very well kept. The hosts were very friendly and warm and served up an excellent breakfast - what more could anyone ask for ? I am sure we will be back again.

Reviewer: Mrs. Amanda Davies | Tue 24th Sep 2013


fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bloomfield House. Our room was beautiful and immaculate, as was the rest of the house. The whole place had a comfortable and friendly atmosphere and Karen provided great details on restaurants to eat at in town as well as discounts for guests. While we didn't indulge in breakfast the selection looked wonderful. The location was beautiful as well on top of the hill. Great spot and great people.

Reviewer: Jessica Reeve | Sat 21st Sep 2013


Very Enjoyable. - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay in Bloomfield house, nice touch with port for two in your room. Very comfortable and quiet surroundings. Excellent attention from the owners Karen and Robert. Definitely would stay again and would recommend to others.

Reviewer: Orla Kearney | Wed 18th Sep 2013


Relaxing Break - Rating 5/5

Outstanding accommodation with knowledgeable welcoming owners and very comfortable rooms. Breakfasts are excellent with everything required to set you up for the day: A very enjoyable and relaxing stay.

Reviewer: Dr. Martin Randles | Sun 18th Aug 2013


Nice Stay - Rating 3/5

Great weather made the room very warm and an uncomfortable sleep. Shower could have been better. Nice and friendly people, good parking and a great breakfast. No doubt we will stay here again. Thanks

Reviewer: Mr. Ray Nightingale | Sun 21st Jul 2013


bloomfield house - Rating 4/5

i just stayed one night last weekend at bloomfield house on my own for a little treat to myself as i love Bath it was great being a 15 min walk away from the centre at a busy period and i was treated very well - little touches like a big jug of cold iced water when i arrived from the lovely daughter who greeted me ( a sweltering hot day) and as others have mentioned an unusual but lovely complimentary bottle of port fabulous cooked breakfast all v good indeed! thank you, jill

Reviewer: Mrs. Jill Themis | Mon 8th Jul 2013


Mid week break - Rating 5/5

The welcome and hospitality made our stay in Bath truly enjoyable. Karen's (the owner) warmth produced sun beams through the rain clouds. And on a boring note the free car parking is a great bonus at the end of a day. in the car.

Response

Awww Thank you, that's a very nice thing to hear. Hope to see you again someday. Best wishes, Karen

Reviewer: Mr. John Mainprize | Wed 3rd Jul 2013


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Absolutely loved our couple of nights in April. Made to feel so welcome and at home and will recommend BH to all and sundry. Thank you very much for having us!

Response

It was our pleasure, thank you for your review it is much appreciated. We hope very much to see you again one day. Karen

Reviewer: Mr. Timothy Clancy | Tue 7th May 2013


a long weekend in Bath - Rating 4/5

We had a very pleasant and relaxed stay at Bloomfield House. we were made very welcome,particulary by Tolly, who was very attentive! we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Response

We are very pleased that Tolly looked after you well! Thank you for your comments they are much appreciated. Take care Karen

Reviewer: Mr. Russell Whitehouse | Mon 6th May 2013


Great Choice - Rating 5/5

Lovely Guest House, excellent breakfast and perfect hosts, all made for a very pleasant weekend. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Reviewer: Ms. Karen Wiltshire | Wed 3rd Apr 2013


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Bloomfield House is both beautiful and romantic and the owners are simply wonderful. We will be recommending this fantastic B&B to all our friends and family.

Reviewer: Mr. Christopher Norrish | Mon 18th Feb 2013


Five Star Treatment - Rating 5/5

What an amazing place and not only the architecture - the welcome we received was warm and friendly - the breakfast 5* - best bacon I've ever eaten from a local farm looking out over Bath. Go and stay its a gem and the owners are absolute stars!

Reviewer: Mrs. Gill Drury | Tue 11th Dec 2012


Weekend brek - Rating 4/5

Very nice stay and breakfast very easy access to the city

Reviewer: Mr. David Kirwan | Thu 12th Jul 2012


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Karen is a great hostess, nothing is too much trouble. The children are very polite young adults. The cats are adorable, and the dog well..we wanted to take him home. The hotel is spotlessly clean, very homely with loads of character. Breakfast is superb, loads of tea and coffee supplied in the room. Really enjoyed our stay, would recommend to anyone.

Reviewer: Miss. Diane Haworth | Sun 1st Jul 2012


Bloomfiel House Review - Rating 5/5

Good sized room with a lovely four-poster bed. Bathroom large, but poor water pressure. Staff very friendly and helpful. Quiet position, but still fairly close to centre of town.

Reviewer: Mrs. Tamara Rugendyke | Wed 25th Apr 2012


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely stay - thank you

Reviewer: Ms. Helen Kerridge | Thu 12th Apr 2012


Friendly and comfortable - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome and very comfortable house. It's worth being a short distance from the city centre to enjoy the peace and quiet. And the cooked breakfast was perfect. Thank you.

Response

Thank you for your kind words. Lovely to meet your family. Hope to see you again one day.

Reviewer: Ms. Jenny Owen | Mon 5th Mar 2012


Weekend visit - Rating 5/5

A very friendly place to stay while visiting Bath. Would recommend every time.

Reviewer: Mr. Nigel Freshwater | Wed 1st Feb 2012


Beautiful house - Rating 5/5

Stayed in a four poster bed...lovely. Very comfy, romantic, clean and excellent views. The owners were eztremely accomodating and very friendly. Breakfast was lovely and the place was quiet and peaceful. Short walk into town.and a very nice area. Highly recommended.

Reviewer: Miss. Katherine Fergusonk | Mon 2nd Jan 2012


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Karen was an extremely obliging host she did our washing and drove us into town the overall experience at this establishment was excellent

Reviewer: Mr. Lawrence Mewburn | Sat 5th Nov 2011


Review - Rating 4/5

A lovely house, very friendly host. Lovely dog and cats. The garden was fab and the breakfast was lovely. The list of restaurants was very helpful and the quirky document in the room explaining about the family was a really lovely touch. The negative points were a small bathroom across the landing from the bedroom.

Reviewer: Mr. Ian Chisnall | Sat 13th Aug 2011


Excellant base to stay in Bath - Rating 5/5

Bloomfield House is a very relaxed congenial household to use as a base for what ever purpose your visit(ours was our sons graduation from Bath Spa University).The shared breakfast table was equally rewarding,being a usefull icebreaker with other fellow guests.Food excellant,along with friendly pets,children,staff and owners.Will certainly recomend to family and friends,and to anyone looking for a exceedingly well priced bed and breakfast.

Reviewer: Mrs. Rosemary Cowham | Wed 27th Jul 2011


Very pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

The hosts at Bloomfield House were extremely friendly and accommodating. The house itself was lovely.

Reviewer: Ms. Julia Shaftel | Sun 3rd Jul 2011


Good old fashioned hospitality - Rating 5/5

The Bloomfield house is a family home as well as a Bed and Breakfast so if your a social recluse then I would not recommend this place as at some point you will probably come into contact with other more permenant residents of the property. This for me and my partner was a massive plus though. The building itself is lovely, full of old charm whist avoiding the usual pitfalls of looking shabby. We were given our room which directly overlooks a very well maintained garden complete with the stereotypical 2 cats and a dog, all very well behaved. (I was even tempted to kidnap the dog it was so lovely). If your not a pet lover then they say they will put the dog in his room away from you but if you do your missing out on hours and hours of fetch in the garden as he does not get bored! The owners state the property as a sort of "Faulty towers" cross but this would hint at a mild imcompetence which we certainly saw nothing of. They were the ultimate hosts, nothing was too much trouble, the best way to describe it is when you go back home to your mums house and she is in a great mood and misses you because you've not seen her for a while. She wants to look after you and that was the impression we got here, throughly well looked after. It is around 30 mins walk from bath centre if you don't get the bus which is just outside the house but the walk itself is a nice one albeit it uphill and a taxi is about £6.50p which I thought was expensive as its not that far. All in all the room was lovely, the "staff" if you can call them that were fantastic. Bath city itself is the sort of place you have to go to at least once, England as its supposed to be. Thank you for our stay.

Reviewer: Mr. Gareth Edwards | Mon 27th Jun 2011


Bloomfield House - Rating 5/5

We had an excellent overnight stay at Bloomfield House. Only 15 mins walk from Bath City Cte. The hosts were exceptionally friendly and the room/hearty breakfast was lovely. Thank you so much ..... we will be back.

Reviewer: Mrs. Carole Stafford | Thu 23rd Jun 2011


Bloomfield is the BEST! - Rating 5/5

Bloomfield House with Karen as your hostess is the PERFECT place to stay in Bath! I can't possibly imagine more beautiful-and comfortable- accomodations or a warmer welcome.

Reviewer: Mrs. Elizabeth Ebel | Wed 25th May 2011


Bloomfield House - Rating 5/5

My wife and I stayed on the 28th and 29th of April 2011 and this was our 5th consecutive year. The owners look after you in a friendly, genuine manner. The breakfast flexibility caters for all and the bedrooms are excellent. The location is a short taxi ride from the centre of Bath and we will be returning again soon.

Reviewer: Pete Legerton | Mon 2nd May 2011


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Pet Friendly
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Wifi